E-SPLOST Renewal

E-mail Print PDF

Thank you voters of Fayette County for supporting the Fayette County Public School System by passing the county’s first E-SPLOST (Education Special Local Option Sales Tax) November 2008.



The majority of the funds generated from the one-penny sales tax have been used to provide our students access to the latest in classroom technology (21st Century Classroom initiative), and enable the implementation of BYOT (Bring Your Own Technology) program, giving students the opportunity to use their electronic devices in class to make learning more interesting and engaging. We have also upgraded our internal network system, improving electronic communication between home and school, and updated computer labs at our schools.

E-SPLOST has also enabled us to keep newer and safer school buses in our fleet, many of them equipped with security cameras. Students have access to updated textbooks and learning materials thanks to proceeds from the sales tax.

 arrow iconClick here to see history of tax collections and how the funds have been spent.

Our facilities department has used E-SPLOST to keep our school buildings comfortable and safe by replacing worn out roofs, heating and air conditioning systems, ceiling and lighting systems, flooring, and painting.

  altClick here for current and future E-SPLOST facility projects.

Our property owners have seen decreases on their tax bills since 2009. This year (2012), owners of a $250,000 home in the county will save approximately $143 in taxes.

  altSee breakdown of savings based on a $250,000 home from 2009-2012 by clicking here.


Video Presentation

Please view the video presentation made at the April 16, 2012 board meeting. 
To view, click on this link.  Then scroll down and click on Agenda item 8b. The video should launch automatically (requires the free Adobe Flash plugin to play).

E-SPLOST has made it possible for:

  • Access to the latest technological advances for all students, preparing them for their futures in the 21st century;
  • Secure and well-maintained learning environments;
  • Safe transportation to and from school;
  • Updated textbooks and learning materials;
  • Lower property taxes for homeowners.
The current E-SPLOST expires April 2014. The Fayette County Board of Education unanimously approved placing a referendum on the November 6, 2012 general election ballot asking voters to renew the E-SPLOST for another 5 years, which would extend the current one-penny sales tax through April 2019.

Our funding plan for the E-SPLOST renewal remains the same as above: technology and facility improvements/upgrades, purchasing new school buses, instructional materials and textbooks, as well as lowering the bond debt to save property owners money on their tax bills.

Without renewal of the E-SPLOST, many of these opportunities will be lost for both our students and the community. Thank you for your support and consideration.

esplost,  ESPLOST

In The Spotlight:

Get Connected






Using a Mobile Device?

Visit our mobile site!  www.fcboe.mobi

Report Broken Link

  Click here to report a broken link or a problem with this website.  Thank you!


The Fayette County Board of Education is housed at 210 Stonewall Avenue W., Fayetteville, GA 30214. You may reach us by telephone at 770-460-3535. Our switchboard hours of operation are Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm during the school year; summer hours are Monday through Thursday from 7:00am to 5:00pm.  Thank you for visiting our site!