Return to Headlines

16 Arts and Business Majors Named First Recipients of Betsy Getreu Scholarships 

The Fayette County Education Foundation announces the first recipients of the Betsy Getreu Memorial Scholarship awarded to graduating seniors who plan to pursue a degree in the arts or business/computer science. Sixteen students representing all five high schools received scholarships of $1,500 each.

The scholarships target graduating seniors of Fayette County Public Schools who do not meet the criteria for high academic-based awards but maintain an academic capacity to pursue higher education. Recipients are selected based on the quality of their essay application describing their interest in their chosen field and community service endeavors.

With this being the inaugural year, and the high quality of applications submitted, all applicants were awarded scholarships. Going forward, two students will be selected from each high school to receive a $1,500 scholarship each.

Most of the 2024 award recipients plan to major in an arts field. Six recipients plan to study business. The recipients of the 2024 Betsy Getreu Memorial Scholarships are as follows:


Fayette County High

Carlos Wall                              (Business)

Andrew Brinson                      (Arts)


McIntosh High

Asa Boddie                              (Business)

Catherine Amendola               (Arts)

Skylar Moss                             (Arts)

Rebekah Bushmire                  (Arts)


Sandy Creek High

Skylar Barnett                         (Arts)

Myla Morse                             (Business)

Joshua Hales                           (Business) 


Starr’s Mill High

Liam Ruppert                          (Business)

Catherine Claire French          (Arts)

Hannah Thompson                 (Arts)

Kaylan Cape                            (Business)


Whitewater High

Macie Brooks                          (Arts)

Riley Black                               (Arts)

Amaris Young                          (Arts)


The scholarship is named in honor of Betsy Getreu, a longtime Fayette County resident, small business owner, and community volunteer whose true passions were in both the performing and fine arts along with computers and information technology. The scholarship is supported by individual donations and the Getreu family. It is a living tribute to Betsy Getreu and builds on her legacy by helping future artists and business leaders obtain a college degree so that they too can achieve their dreams and use their passions to enhance the lives of others.

Eligible applicants must be graduating seniors of Fayette County Public Schools who plan to pursue a degree in the arts or business/computer science at a two-year or four-year college or university. Guidance counselors at all high schools encouraged eligible students to apply. Scholarships are awarded each spring and presented to students at their high school’s honors night.

Donations to the scholarship can be made payable to the Fayette County Education Foundation (note Betsy Getreu Memorial Scholarship on the check). Mail to Fayette County Education Foundation, attention Melinda Berry Dreisbach, 205 LaFayette Avenue, Fayetteville, GA 30214.



Posted 6/11/2024