Return to Headlines

Bennett’s Mill, Spring Hill honored for cafeteria excellence

Bennett’s Mill Middle and Spring Hill Elementary are winners of the inaugural Cafeteria Award of Excellence presented by the Georgia Department of Education. Just four schools were honored by the state, and two of them represent Fayette County Public Schools.

Bennett’s Mill Middle’s school nutrition program is led by David Hudson, and Spring Hill Elementary’s school nutrition program is led by Shae Cleghorn.

The Georgia Department of Education’s School Nutrition Division launched the new award to recognize the work of local school nutrition professionals for their exceptional attention to serving quality school meals and providing excellent customer service while maintaining program integrity. Award requirements include criteria reflective of menu standards, service of Georgia Grown products, student meal participation, school nutrition promotion plan, and health inspection scores.


Posted 9/22/2023