Return to Headlines

Fayette County Honors Board Members for Service

The Fayette County Public School System is joining a statewide celebration to salute the efforts of local school board members during School Board Appreciation Week March 18-22.Fayette County Honors Board Members for Service

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system, and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools, and must study, evaluate, and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.

Fayette’s school board members are Scott Hollowell, District 3 (chairman); Roy Raybold, District 2 (vice-chair); Brian Anderson, District 5; Leonard Presberg, District 4; and Dr. Barry Marchman, District 1.

“Being a board member is a tough job. Our citizens elect members to represent the best interest of their districts, the entire community, and most importantly the well-being of all our children. There are times when there can be conflicting issues and the best boards always work to find common ground to move the district forward – Fayette County has developed into that type of board of education, says Fayette County School Superintendent Dr. Joseph Barrow. “Our board spends countless hours fulfilling its responsibilities and working together to continually improve our education system.”

The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) sponsors the celebration. The GSBA mission is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s 180 elected boards of education.