Return to Headlines

Fayette County Schools Announce Nominees for the 2020 Teacher of the Year

Twenty-six teachers from the Fayette County Public School System have been nominated to represent their school in the 2020 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition. Fayette County Schools Announce Nominees for the 2020 Teacher of the Year
The teachers were selected by their peers through a voting process that took place at the schools in October. Each school-level teacher of the year is now a nominee for the 2020 teacher of the year competition, and will complete an essay-style application about their teaching styles, objectives and classroom initiatives. The applications will be rated by a three-person panel consisting of last year’s Fayette County Teacher of the Year winner, Michael Wamsley from Robert J. Burch Elementary, and two retired educators.
The teachers with the three top scores will become finalists in the competition and will take part in a final judging stage that includes an onsite classroom visit and interview with the judges. The winner will be announced April 16 at the annual Fayette County Teacher of the Year Ceremony at New Hope Baptist Church, South Campus, starting at 6 p.m.
The following teachers are nominees for the 2020 Fayette County Teacher of the Year competition:
Renee Fitzsimmons, Braelinn Elementary
Leslie Gable, Cleveland Elementary
Mark McCloud, Crabapple Elementary
Jennifer Shimshick, Fayetteville Elementary
Kari Boyle, Huddleston Elementary
Angela McMillan, Inman Elementary
Garry Smith, Kedron Elementary
Heather Gruszka, North Fayette Elementary
Brittan Parker, Oak Grove Elementary
Lynn Atchison, Peachtree City Elementary
Shannon Cope, Peeples Elementary
Jamie Hertha, Robert J. Burch Elementary
Kacie Reddig, Sara Harp Minter Elementary
Maegan Stalvey, Spring Hill Elementary
Laurie Kufchak, Bennett’s Mill Middle
Christina Rufenacht, Flat Rock Middle
Bob Rice, J.C. Booth Middle
Ashley Burnett, Rising Starr Middle
Kim Broome, Whitewater Middle
Jennifer D’Amato, Fayette County High
Katherine Turner, McIntosh High
Kelly Gallman, Sandy Creek High
Nick Gillies, Starr’s Mill High
Nick Castagna, Whitewater High
Joanne Pringle-Shakoor, The Alternative Program
Mary Tuck, Open Campus