Return to Headlines

Student Journalists Make National Honor Roll

Seven students from McIntosh High and Starr’s Mill High schools are among the 1,300 high school scholars and student journalists across the nation to be inducted into the National Scholastic Press Association Honor Roll of Student Journalists.

The students are Natalie Spellman from McIntosh High, and Bekah Algaze, Ben Barkley, Caylee Cicero, James Hindy, Jordan Owens, and Victoria Sponar, all from Starr’s Mill High.

In addition to serving for at least two years on a student media staff, in broadcast, newspaper, magazine, online, or yearbook, the students have earned a 3.5 or higher grade-point average on a 4.0 scale. Publication advisers and journalism instructors nominate students for the honor.

All honor roll inductees receive a certificate of recognition and are listed in the association’s Best of the High School Press, a yearly publication showcasing the winners in the association’s student media competitions. Inductees are also eligible to wear a special honor cord at graduation.