Return to Headlines

State finalists named for ’24 Governor’s Honors Program

A total of 16 students representing each of Fayette’s public high schools have been selected to attend the 2024 Governor’s Honors Program (GHP) on the campus of Georgia Southern University June 16-July 13.

Representing Fayette County High is Alyssa Reed (Biology/Environmental Science).

Representing McIntosh are Arya Avya (Chemistry), Stella Christensen (Visual Arts), Sophia Farinacci (Spanish), Alejandro Gomez (Communicative Arts), Krish Sarin (Computer Science), Vedita Sawhney (Mathematics), and Kiefer State (Woodwind: Bassoon).

Representing Sandy Creek is Glory-Victoria Fortuchang (Communicative Arts).

Representing Starr’s Mill are John Bostick (Engineering/Programming), David Cauble (Mathematics), Ella Griswold (Communicative Arts), and Caroline Kern (French).

Representing Whitewater are Owen Gutierrez (Engineering/Design), Justin Lin (Mathematics), and Matthew McClanahan (Social Studies).

GHP is a four-week intensive study of undergraduate, graduate, and professional-level coursework, and experience in a given field. Students spend approximately 27 hours a week in highly-advanced classes in their fields, encompassing 20 areas of study. The Governor’s Honors Program is fully-funded by the Georgia General Assembly, so there is no charge for students to attend.

Nomination to the program is a multi-part process beginning at the school system level with an exam in the students’ selected subject area. If students meet the cut-off score, they participate in a county-level interview, which determines the nominees who are invited to complete a state application. The Governor’s Office of Student Achievement selects a limited number of students to interview at the state level. Finalists are selected from this final group.

GHP has been in operation more than 50 years, making it the longest continually-running program of its kind in the nation.


Posted 3/28/2024