Return to Headlines

Exceptional Children's educators honored

As part of Exceptional Children's Week festivities, 7 special education teachers were honored for going above and beyond every day for students with special needs.

The honored educators are: Charmaine Courtney, Robert J. Burch Elementary; Andy Miller, Mainstay Academy; Jane Miller, Rising Starr Middle and Whitewater High; Torie Saxon, Peeples Elementary; Tracy Waits, Oak Grove Elementary; Kim Walden, Bennett’s Mill Middle; and Clara Zimmerman, Sara Harp Minter Elementary.

The Exceptional Children's Services Department also recognized three schools for their outstanding efforts in serving students with disabilities this year: Cleveland Elementary, Inman Elementary, and Kedron Elementary.

These rockstar teachers exemplify what it means to create inclusive, nurturing environments where every child can thrive. Their compassion, creativity, and advocacy truly make a difference.

They were nominated by district leadership for their commitment, expertise, and passion for ensuring all Fayette County children reach their full potential.

This year’s Exceptional Children's Week theme was “Championing Tomorrow: Embracing inclusive technology for all students.”


Posted 4/26/2024