• Social Studies Clubs

     

    Debate

    Sponsor:

    Ward Abel - abel.ward@mail.fcboe.org

    Edmodo: https://edmo.do/j/obw1et

    To develop the skills of debate to build a foundation for participation in democracy.

     

    History Club

    Sponsors:

    Laurette Edenfield - edenfield.laurette@mail.fcboe.org

    To encourage the study and understanding of historical events.

     

    Japan Cultural Club

    Sponsors:

    Casey Kreitner - kreitner.casey@mail.fcboe.org

    To educate and immerse members in Japanese culture so that members may become more culturally proficient with emphasis on the main aspects of Japanese culture, language, and its holidays

     

    Korean American Student Aoociation

    Sponsors:

    Arthur Walton - walton.arthur@mail.fcboe.org

    The purpose of KASA is to give students of all backgrounds an opportunity to experience and explore the Korean culture and to share and celebrate Korean heritage.  

     

    The Middle Eastern Club

    Sponsor:

    Barbara Baker - baker.barbara@mail.fcboe.org

    Students at MHS will learn more about the Middle Eastern culture and will participate in community service projects.  

     

    Mock Trial

    Sponsor:

    Sara Knight - knight.sara@mail.fcboe.org

    To help students gain a basic understanding of the legal mechanism through which society chooses to resolve many of its disputes. We get a case that includes 6 witness statements, case law, and a whole bunch of conflicting evidence.  We prepare BOTH sides of the case and when we go to competition we compete against other schools in real courtrooms with real judges and attorneys evaluating the performance.  The way it works is our prosecution would take on another school's defense team and vice versa.  The team has 12 speaking parts and two time keepers.  It's better than debate in many ways because it is an actual, practical real life environment to develop skills.  Students learn a tremendous amount about law, courtroom proceedings, how to prepare witnesses, vocabulary, critical thinking, creative analysis, document analysis, and etiquette.

     

    Model UN

    Sponsors:

    John Steiner - steiner.john@mail.fcboe.org

    The Model UN team competes with other schools around the state in public speaking and negotiating skills. Students research topics in global policy and act as diplomats from different countries' points of view. Students discuss issues in conference and suggest policies on how to remedy global problems. Students gain an understanding of civics, current events, globalization and diplomacy through research, debate, deliberation, consultation, and development of solutions to world problems.

      

    Multi-Cultural Club

    Sponsor:

    Theresa Togneri - togneri.theresa@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote an increased understanding of diverse cultures through exploration and celebration of tradition, language, and heritage.

     

    Student Government

    Sponsor:

    Janet Hansen - hansen.janet@mail.fcboe.org

    The Student Government Association plans student events such as homecoming and prom and we raise money for school improvements. Our biggest fundraiser is the Miss MHS pageant in the spring. Officers are elected by their peers and they act as the liaison between students and the administration. We really want to encourage freshman participation as it's always kind of low for our new students. 

     

    Global Citizens Club

    Sponsors:

    Arthur Walton- walton.arthur@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote greater awareness of the global community

     

    We The People

    Sponsor:

    Mark Kienast - kienast.mark@mail.fcboe.org

    To provide a bipartisan forum for the memorialization and discussion of major events in American politics and history. 

     

    World Religion Club

    Sponsor:

    Aaron Rafter - rafter.aaron@mail.fcboe.org

    To learn about and embrace the significant characters and stories of the many religions of the world

     

    Young Democrats

    Sponsor:

    Mark Kienast - kienast.mark@mail.fcboe.org

    To advance the ideals of the Democratic Party by discussing relevant issues and supporting Democratic candidates.

     

    Young Libertarians

    Sponsor:

    Ward Abel - abel.ward@mail.fcboe.org

    To provide a forum for the promotion and discussion of libertarian ideals and to honor our founding fathers and their creation of the Constitution of the United States.

     

    Young Republicans

    Sponsor:

    Bunky Colvin - colvin.bunky@mail.fcboe.org

    To advance the ideals of the Republican Party by discussing relevant issues and supporting Republican candidates.