• Academic Clubs and More

     

    Academic Bowl

    Sponsor:

    TBD - 

    To encourage well-rounded students who are knowledgeable in a variety of topics.

     

    Ambassadors

    Sponsors:

    Cynthia Neeley - neeley.cynthia@mail.fcboe.org

    Hope Huey - huey.hope@mail.fcboe.org

    MHS Ambassadors work with students who are new to MHS to help them make a smooth transition. We are the primary volunteer force for Camp McIntosh, give school tours for new students the first day they attend school and act as peer-buddies to students who may be struggling socially. We invite new students to attend sporting events or to come with our members to other clubs in which they participate. We also provide services to the school by guiding parents at Open House, assisting with GHP interviews, and other events as needed by administration.

    3:50 in the Media Center

      

    Animal Care Organization

    Sponsors:

    Kelly McMahon - mcmahon.kelly@mail.fcboe.org

    A club devoted to discussing and promoting the awareness of animal welfare, including shelters, rescue, responsible pet ownership, and animal conservation.  

     

    Bass Fishing Club

    Sponsor:

    Greg Mason - mason.greg@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote fellowship, water safety and conservation.

     

    Bowling Club

    Sponsor:

    Taylor Steen - steen.taylor@mail.fcboe.org

    To provide people with an opportunity to hone their bowling skills and learn more about this lifetime sport.  

     

    Chess Club

    Sponsor:

    Arthur Walton - walton.arthur@mail.fcboe.org

    To introduce chess as a way to develop thinking strategies as part of gaming.

    Meets every Wednesday morning except for Faculty meeting dates.

     

    College Athletics Discussion Association

    Sponsor:

    Christopher Flournoy - flournoy.christopher@mail.frcboe.org

    A forum for students to discuss the ins and outs of collegiate sports with a focus on football. 

     

    Comic Book Club

    Sponsor:

    Tom Woolf - woolf.thomas@mail.fcboe.org

    A club for the discussion and celebration of comic books. graphic novels, and manga for thosse new and experienced with the genre.  

      

    Cycling Club

    Sponsor:

    Aaron Rafter - rafter.aaron@mail.fcboe.org

    The Cycling Club encourages and supports general interest in bicycles and other aerobic modes of transportation.  

     

    FCA/FCS

    Sponsors:

    Bunky Colvin - colvin.bunky@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote fellowship, worship, and discipleship among Christian athletics and students.

     

    Filthy Club

    Sponsors:

     Dr. Jane Welch- welch.jane@mail.fcboe.org

    Filthy Club provides a clean environment for McIntosh students eating in the courtyard.  

     

    Find Your Talent Club

    Sponsors:

    Mark Kienast - kienast.mark@mail.fcboe.org

    To help students find their interests and passions

     

    HOSA: Future Health Professionals 

    Sponsor:

    Jacqueline Burgess- burgess.jacqueline@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote student interest in health occupations.

      

    Interact Club

    Sponsors:

    TBD

    To bring together young people and develop leadership skills

      

    Key Club

    Sponsors:

    Laurette Edenfield - edenfield.laurette@mail.fcboe.org

    Wendy Mabon - mabon.wendy@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote community service.

      

    McIntosh Young Entrepreneurs

    Sponsors:

    Allen Beall - beall.allen@mail.fcboe.org

    A club that educates high school students about entrepreneurship and assists them in their own entrepreneurial pursuits.  

     

    PALS

    Sponsor:

    Carrie Smith - smith.carried@mail.fcboe.org

    PALS Website

    Regular meetings are held during A, B, & C lunches. Other organized events will be before and after school. Students may come for any part of that time as transportation allows. Chatting with friends, snacking on breakfast food, and announcement of upcoming events will take place. Social activities will be scheduled after school each month  on various afternoons. Time and date will be decided by members.  Previous events have included Bingo, Halloween Party, Board Game Day, Homecoming poster making, attend MHS sports events. Teachers will be present. Club members may be allowed to volunteer at Fayette County Special Olympics in the spring if they meet requirements of participation and grades. All students may join and experience friendships at MHS.  Dues of $10.00 will be collected in order to receive a P.A.L.S. T shirt.. Scholarships are available.

     

    PAWS

    Sponsor:

    Shery Kearney- kearney.shery@mail.fcboe.org

    To raise money for the Fayette Humane Society. To inspire the importance of charity, creativity and leadership and to offer student a way to help their community

     

    Podcast Club

    Sponsor:

    Angie Rees- rees.angie@mail.fcboe.org

    A club focused on listening and discussing a wide variety of podcasts in order to spread a new, eclectic view of the world.  

     

    PTSO Club

    Sponsor:

    Bree Heaton - heaton.bree@mail.fcboe.org

    To aid and support the PTSO and to operate the Outpost (school store.)

     

    Rachel's Challenge

    Sponsor:

    Andrea Lakly- lakly.andrea@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote anti-bullying and good citizenship at McIntosh High School and our community

     

    Responders Club

    Sponsor:

    Maureen Ciccone- ciccone.maureen@mail.fcboe.org

    The Responders Club aims to give back to the first responders of our cimmunity who risk their lives to keep us safe.  

     

    SAT Club

    Sponsor:

    Lynne Bruschetti - bruschetti.lynne@mail.fcboe.org

    SAT Club provides an environment for students to discuss techniques for taking the SAT, taking practice exams, and hearing teachers and students share their tips and experiences.    

     

    The Society for Social Equality

    Sponsor:

    Amanda Breland - breland.amanda@mail.fcboe.org

    The purpose of the Society for Social Equality is to promote intersectional equality and raise awareness and funds for select non-profit organizations to help aid our community, with a focus on women.  

     

    Skills USA

    Sponsor:

    Lauren Bozone - bozone.lauren@mail.fcboe.org

    SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry working together to ensure America has an educated and skilled workforce. SkillsUSA's mission is to empower its members to become world-class students, workers, leaders and responsible American citizens. SkillsUSA helps each student excel. The McIntosh SkillsUSA organization/club is entering its 4th exciting year. We have monthly meetings and holiday events. We sponsor an annual community service project. In the spring, we enter competitive events in graphic design, engineering, architectural design, entrepreneurship, healthcare science, computer science, and family and consumer science. We show off our talents and skills and win prizes and recognition all while having a great time together. We have had first and third place winners at national competitions in 2013 and 2014. We are looking for fun, enthusiastic students to join us. It is a great time and looks excellent on a college resume.

     

    TSA (Technology Student Association)

    Sponsor:

    Dave Thomas - thomas.david@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote technological literacy, leadership, and problem solving.

     

    Ultimate Frisbee

    Sponsor:

    Taylor Steen - steen.taylor@mail.fcboe.org

    A McIntosh group that meets monthly to play Ultimate Frisbee.  

     

    Unicef Club

    Sponsor:

    Kelly McMahon- mcmahon.kelly@mail.fcboe.org

    Student-led group that partners with the U.S. Fund for UNICEF to educate, advocate and fundraise on behalf of children, and in support of UNICEF’s lifesaving work. The clubs are supported by U.S. Fund for UNICEF staff and by a student-led National Council

     

    Women's Outreach Organization

    Sponsor:

    Anna Lee Harbison- harbison.anna@mail.fcboe.org

    Women's Outreach Organization is a club which promotes inclusion, acceptance, and equality for all genders, as well as, raising funds for international organizations and guest speakers.