• Academic Clubs and More

     

    Academic Bowl

    Sponsor:

    Emily Hodge - hodge.emily@mail.fcboe.org

    David High - high.david@mail.fcboe.org

    To encourage well-rounded students who are knowledgeable in a variety of topics.

     

    Ambassadors

    Sponsors:

    Cynthia Neeley - neeley.cynthia@mail.fcboe.org

    Hope Huey - huey.hope@mail.fcboe.org

    MHS Ambassadors work with students who are new to MHS to help them make a smooth transition. We are the primary volunteer force for Camp McIntosh, give school tours for new students the first day they attend school and act as peer-buddies to students who may be struggling socially. We invite new students to attend sporting events or to come with our members to other clubs in which they participate. We also provide services to the school by guiding parents at Open House, assisting with GHP interviews, and other events as needed by administration.

    3:50 in the Media Center

    October 15
    November 19
    December 10
    January 21
    February 18
    March 17
    April 14
    May 5

      

    Bass Fishing Club

    Sponsors:

    Greg Mason - mason.greg@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote fellowship, water safety and conservation

     

    Chess Club

    Sponsor:

    Arthur Walton - walton.arthur@mail.fcboe.org

    To introduce chess as a way to develop thinking strategies as part of gaming.

    Meets every Wednesday morning except for Faculty meeting dates.

      

    FCA/FCS

    Sponsors:

    Bunky Colvin - colvin.bunky@mail.fcboe.org

    Lee Belknap - belknap.lee@mail.fcboe.org

    David Munoz - munoz.david@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote fellowship, worship, and discipleship among Christian athletics and students.

     

    HOSA

    Sponsor:

    Dr. Taressa Burge- burge.taress@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote student interest in health occupations.

      

    Key Club

    Sponsors:

    Laurette Edenfield - edenfield.laurette@mail.fcboe.org

    Wendy Mabon - mabon.wendy@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote community service.

      

    PALS

    Sponsor:

    Carrie Smith - smith.carried@mail.fcboe.org

    PALS Website

    Regular meetings are held during A, B, & C lunches. Other organized events will be before and after school. Students may come for any part of that time as transportation allows. Chatting with friends, snacking on breakfast food, and announcement of upcoming events will take place. Social activities will be scheduled after school each month  on various afternoons. Time and date will be decided by members.  Previous events have included Bingo, Halloween Party, Board Game Day, Homecoming poster making, attend MHS sports events. Teachers will be present. Club members may be allowed to volunteer at Fayette County Special Olympics in the spring if they meet requirements of participation and grades. All students may join and experience friendships at MHS.  Dues of $10.00 will be collected in order to receive a P.A.L.S. T shirt.. Scholarships are available.

     

    PAWS

    Sponsor:

    Shery Kearney- kearney.shery@mail.fcboe.org

    To raise money for the Fayette Humane Society. To inspire the importance of charity, creativity and leadership and to offer student a way to help their community

     

    PTSO Club

    Sponsor:

    Bree Heaton - heaton.bree@mail.fcboe.org

    To aid and support the PTSO and to operate the Outpost (school store.)

     

    Rachel's Challenge

    Sponsor:

     Andrea Lakly- lakly.andrea@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote anti-bullying and good citizenship at McIntosh High School and our community

     

    Skills USA

    Sponsor:

    Lauren Bozone - bozone.lauren@mail.fcboe.org

    SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry working together to ensure America has an educated and skilled workforce. SkillsUSA's mission is to empower its members to become world-class students, workers, leaders and responsible American citizens. SkillsUSA helps each student excel. The McIntosh SkillsUSA organization/club is entering its 4th exciting year. We have monthly meetings and holiday events. We sponsor an annual community service project. In the spring, we enter competitive events in graphic design, engineering, architectural design, entrepreneurship, healthcare science, computer science, and family and consumer science. We show off our talents and skills and win prizes and recognition all while having a great time together. We have had first and third place winners at national competitions in 2013 and 2014. We are looking for fun, enthusiastic students to join us. It is a great time and looks excellent on a college resume.

     

    TSA (Technology Student Association)

    Sponsor:

    Dave Thomas - thomas.david@mail.fcboe.org

    To promote technological literacy, leadership, and problem solving.

     

    Unicef Club

    Sponsor:

     Kelly McMahon- mcmahon.kelly@mail.fcboe.org

    Student-led group that partners with the U.S. Fund for UNICEF to educate, advocate and fundraise on behalf of children, and in support of UNICEF’s lifesaving work. The clubs are supported by U.S. Fund for UNICEF staff and by a student-led National Council