Return to Headlines

BOE members honored during appreciation week

The Fayette County Public School System is joining in the annual statewide celebration to salute the efforts of local school board members during School Board Appreciation Week, March 13-17, 2023. 

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system, and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools, and must study, evaluate, and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.

Fayette’s school board members are Roy Raybold, Post 2 (chairman); Scott Hollowell, Post 3 (vice-chair); Brian Anderson, Post 5; Dr. Regina Daigre, Post 4; and Randy Hough, Post 1.

“The institution of public schools in America is founded on the principle that the schools should be run by the community that surrounds the students, and school boards are how that principle is realized. We are so fortunate in Fayette to have outstanding community members who wish to serve our students through their leadership on our board,” says Fayette County School Superintendent Dr. Jonathan Patterson. “We celebrate the ideal of our public schools and the leadership of our own Board during national School Board Appreciation Week.”

The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) sponsors the celebration. The GSBA mission is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy, and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s 181 elected boards of education.


Posted 3/14/2023