Return to Headlines

Rising Starr’s Todd named state teacher of the year

One of Fayette’s brightest stars has been recognized as the state’s best. Rising Starr Middle’s Christy Todd has been named the 2024 Georgia Teacher of the Year by the Georgia Department of Education.

Todd is the first Fayette County Public Schools teacher to be named Georgia Teacher of the Year.

“It is thrilling to see a teacher so deserving being recognized as an exceptional educator,” said Rising Starr Principal Kathy Smith. “The Rising Starr Community is very proud of her leadership in creating opportunities for all students in Fayette County.”

Todd is a music technology teacher at Rising Starr Middle. She wants all learners to find their creative superpowers, so much so that she founded Fayette County Public Schools’ Community for Creativity (CFC) initiative. As a CFC teacher, she facilitates the program at Rising Starr, where she teaches classes and supports school-wide creation of songs, podcasts, videos, audiobooks, and more, which are then released through the school’s label, Hall Pass Entertainment.

“Christy Todd is an advocate for all students in Georgia and a great voice for public education,” said Smith. “She has been an advocate for our students by working  with business partners and Fayette County Leadership to create the first Community for Creativity.”

The Georgia Teacher of the Year (GaTOTY) serves as an ambassador for education, traveling the state speaking to educators and community groups. The GaTOTY also competes in the National Teacher of the Year Program, representing Georgia at national conferences with other State Teachers of the Year. 

The finalists were chosen from a pool of applicants all previously selected as their school district’s Teacher of the Year. The applications were read and scored by a group of reviewers that included past Georgia Teacher of the Year winners and finalists along with Georgia Department of Education representatives.

GaTOTY operates one year ahead to align with the national program; the 2024 Teacher of the Year will serve from July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024.


Posted 6/10/2023